5 Books To Read If You Loved Stranger Things

Image result for stranger things

I know that I don’t normally post things like this but I’ve decided to branch out a little.

Stranger things is one of my Favourite TV programs this year. I don’t normally say something like that, I generally have a few favourites within the year. But this program brought me back to my childhood with the fashion and music. It also reminded me of a few of my favourite all time authors. Stephen King, being one of them. Yes I know I generally read a lot of Contemporary books but I’ve been known to read a Horror here and there.

If you haven’t heard of Stranger Things, What rock have you been living under? Stranger Things is an American supernatural horror web television series created by the Duffer Brothers.The plot follows the disappearance of a young boy, and a telekinetic girl who helps his friends in their search, while the boy’s older brother, mother, and the town police chief start their own investigations. The show is set in 1983 Indiana and is a homage to ’80s pop culture and If you’re not streaming Stranger Things by now then you definitely should be. It’s a mix between ET, Super 8, a Stephen King novel and The Goonies all wrapped into one brilliant package that’s absolutely thrilling from beginning to end with a great sound. The show was released on Netflix on July 15, 2016. It got positive reviews for its characterization, acting, soundtrack, directing, writing, and homages to 1980s genre films.

Image result for stranger things

When will the second season take place?

When will the second season take place?

“We have to jump a year,” Matt Duffer told IGN, “because like Gaten [Matarazzo, who plays Dustin], his voice has already dropped quite a bit, to the point where we couldn’t even do ADR [Additional Dialogue Recording] with him. We had to pitch it way up. It’s dropped. He’s grown. As much as I would love to have it be Christmas right after that, it’s just not feasible, so we’re going to skip a year. They’ll be a year older and all their changes they’re going through, we’ll take that into account and kind of work that into the show.”

Season two will be set in 1984, this means the Duffer brothers can pay their dues to what was a vintage year in cinema – Gremlins, Ghostbusters, Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom. “We’re trying, hopefully, to capture a little bit of the magic of those films,”said Matt Duffer of his plans for season two. “Something like Temple of Doom. I actually really love Temple of Doom. I love that it gets a little darker and weirder from Raiders [of the Lost Ark].”

Image result for stranger things

I’ve been streaming the Stranger things Soundtrack on Spotify since watching the very first episode.  It’s a collective mix of songs that fits the mysterious nature of the show as well as a testament to the fantastic music of the time period the show is set in, the 1980’s.

5 Books you should be reading if you loved Stranger Things..

It by Stephen King

It

Watchers by Dean Koontz

Watchers

The Body by Stephen King

The Body

Let the Right One In by John Ajvide Lindqvist

Let the Right One In

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

A Monster Calls

Check me out on Social Media!

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

Pinterest

SnapChat

wp-1472480503023.png

Advertisements

13 thoughts on “5 Books To Read If You Loved Stranger Things

  1. I graduated high school in 1984 so this show was right down my alley. I thought, however, that there was a few moments (like the bike-riding escape scene with 11 riding on the bike) that was a bit too reminiscent of the 80’s movies (particularly E.T.). There is a difference between an homage and a rip off…that smelled of rip off a bit to me. I was expecting them to float in the air in front of the moon at one point. I like it a lot but didn’t think it was perfect by any means. After a while when everything looks familiar it starts to look predictable. Loved Winona Ryder.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah I defiantly agree with some of that alright. But to be honest no show is going to be perfect. I wouldn’t say this one was by an means bit it was very enjoyable all the same. I loved the soundtrack though 😊👍

      Like

  2. I love that movie stand by me
    that scene with the hand
    Great stuff that king guy
    I love the story of his first book
    How he threw out
    And his wife saved it
    Carrie
    That’s it
    My mind is not as fast as it use to be
    So long for now
    Sheldon

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s